Smoothing slider values

Home Forums General Using Ctrlr Smoothing slider values

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    dxmachina
    Participant
      • Topics: 3
      • Replies: 1
      • Total: 4

Hi everyone,

I’m very new to Ctrlr and just getting my feet wet. I’m attempting to make a simple set of MIDI CC vertical faders using uiImageSliders. For the most part this is very easy to do, but I’ve run into one main issue that I’m not sure how to resolve.

When you tap on the slider somewhere it immediately snaps to the value that you tap. Ideally, upon the initial finger-down you would get a smooth curve (even linear) between the last slider value and the location of your fingertip.

Is this possible? Apologies if I’m missing something obvious! Thanks for your help.

m.tarenskeen
      Participant
        • Topics: 30
        • Replies: 113
        • Total: 143
        • ★★

I don’t know if what you ask is possible, but I personally would NOT prefer such behaviour. If I want a a smooth transition, I move the slider smoothly in the speed of my choice. If I want a quick and direct change I tap/click on one new position. How else should the panel know how slow or fast you want the transition from A to B to be?

dasfaker
        Keymaster
          • Topics: 80
          • Replies: 793
          • Total: 873
          • ★★★

Set the slider style to RotaryHorizontalDrag or RotaryVerticalDrag.

dxmachina
          Participant
            • Topics: 3
            • Replies: 1
            • Total: 4

Set the slider style to RotaryHorizontalDrag or RotaryVerticalDrag.

Thank you – that’s definitely a different behavior – but possibly useful.

I’m guessing this is doable via a custom script if all else fails.

sm_jamieson
            Participant
              • Topics: 8
              • Replies: 6
              • Total: 14