Help with getting the hang of lua+ ctrlr

Home Forums General Programming Help with getting the hang of lua+ ctrlr

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Jsh
    Participant
      • Topics: 6
      • Replies: 12
      • Total: 18

Hello all,

I’m fairly new to Ctrlr and have been rummaging through the forums and experimenting with Ctrlr. Im in the process of familiarizing myself with both LUA and Sysex in order to access parameters that are not directly accessible without receiving a Sysex dump, changing the parameter value, and then sending the Sysex dump as well as look at implementing librarians/patch savers for synths in the future.

At the moment I’m learning by experimenting with my Korg Minilogue XD. So far I’ve been able to change the portamento by sending CC in LUA (also having done things the default/non-LUA way with no hiccups), but lately, I’ve been to change the portamento sending Sysex via LUA that I get more comfortable with all of the aspects that I’m aiming to learn in a relatively simple example…However, I can’t seem to figure out where I’m going wrong here.

I have used Sysex to change the portamento by simply entering the following into the Sysex formula (with midi message type as sysex)

sysex formula: f0 42 3g 00 51 b6 05 xx f7

But I have thus far been unable to manage this using LUA. Here is my LUA script called on modulator value changed:

— Called when a modulator value changes
      — @mod http://ctrlr.org/api/class_ctrlr_modulator.html
      — @value new numeric value of the modulator

porta2Send = function(–[[ CtrlrModulator –]] mod, –[[ number –]] value, –[[ number –]] source)

— Send Midi
      local sysexMsg = string.format(“f0 42 3g 00 51 b6 05 %.2X f7”, value)
      panel:sendMidiMessageNow(CtrlrMidiMessage(sysexMsg))

end

Any pointers on where I’m going wrong here would be massively appreciated. Cheers.

samoht
      Participant
        • Topics: 1
        • Replies: 54
        • Total: 55

Hi Jsh,