New to Ctrlr – Questions re: Ableton

Home Forums General Using Ctrlr New to Ctrlr – Questions re: Ableton

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Muve
    Participant
      • Topics: 4
      • Replies: 9
      • Total: 13

Hi, I’m new to this, and gradually starting to get my head round some aspects of CTRLR, but have a few questions.

Firstly, am I right in thinking there is no audio handling in the standalone CTRLR? Or have I just missed the Soundcard options?

Next I’ve been using CTRLR in Ableton 8, and I’ve looked through several posts on the subject as it appears to be quite tricky to use. My understanding so far is that you need to:

– Remove the Midi device/port used in Ableton’s ‘Preferences > MIDI Sync’ as well as turn off the Track, Sync and Remote for the device/port.
      – Add a CTRLR VST to a MIDI channel as well as an External Audio Effect to get the audio.
      – To get MIDI information in Ableton to reach the synth, I’ve selected ‘MIDI > MIDI Thru > Plugin Host > Output Device’ which works.
      – So now I’ve got to the stage where I can use MIDI information and the panel to control my synth in Ableton, which is great. The only thing is that I can’t record MIDI notes with the same keyboard in Ableton. Is there a setting I am missing?

One other thing is that the CTRLR VST window seems to always stay on top when used in Ableton, even if Ableton is minimized or you switch to a different program/window. Is this a setting or a bug?

Many thanks
      Muve

atom
      Keymaster
        • Topics: 159
        • Replies: 2945
        • Total: 3104
        • ★★★★★

Soundcard settings are not needed, Ctrlr uses MIDI only.

In ableton the window is always on top, otherwise you can’t get keyboard events, this is a workaround.

Muve
        Participant