Using Ctrlr with Vst Instruments

Home Forums General General MIDI discussion Using Ctrlr with Vst Instruments

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    kiteflyer
    Participant
      • Topics: 2
      • Replies: 3
      • Total: 5

Hi to the Ctrlr community,
      I’ve been using Ctrlr for a few months now. It’s been a bit of an uphill struggle getting my head around the interface. Unfortunately, I was unable to register on the forum at first (a spanner in the machine for a while I think?) and so have only just been able to post. I had, in the meantime been reading the forum and looking at various panels for information, which has been really useful. I’m aware that the main gripe from people is the lack of any comprehensive manual for such a complex app which is a shame. I know that some forum members have compiled an introductory pdf, which is great but I suppose to real knowledge seems to be gained from people’s experience of using it in a ‘trial and error’ manner.

I was fortunate to be able to contact one member outside of the forum (‘Possemo’, hope he doesn’t mind me mentioning him?) who was incredibly helpful and steered me in the right direction.

Apart from introducing myself, I would like to know if anyone out there is using Ctrlr in the same way as myself? I understand that the primary use is to control external hardware i.e. synths, outboard effects, drum machines, etc. However, my use of it is all ‘inside the box’. I use Sonar Platinum as my DAW and work exclusively with vst instruments. I use Ctrlr via a touchscreen to control any gui interface for any vst instrument in my work template. Keyswitching, for ‘articulation changes’ in various sample libraries from a touchscreen is so much better than using keys from the keyboard. Everything can be clearly labelled and buttons can be made big enough to play in a performance fashion, even if you are only recording in a studio environment.