Waldorf (micro)Q ARP: strange sysex..

Home Forums General Programming Waldorf (micro)Q ARP: strange sysex..

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    thatsok
    Participant
      • Topics: 3
      • Replies: 7
      • Total: 10
      • β˜…

I’m new here, so hello all!

I’m trying to control the ARP settings of the microQ. I’ve got some experience with midi & sysex, but almost none in programming. I’m wondering if it’s possible to program what i want with ctrlr (& Lua?) And, if yes, where I should start to learn Lua for this purpose.

So, here’s the problem:

The sysex messages i want to send are in fact controlling 3 arp parameters with only one message. Of course, my purpose is to have one separate controller for each of these 3 parameters.

e.g: F0 (…) xy (…) F7

xy byte is controlling 3 parameters: Step, Glide and Accent.

formulated in bits, it looks like this:

0sssgaaa

0= zero

sss= 3 bits for a value 0-7 for Step

g= 1 bit for a value 0-1 for Glide

aaa= 3 bits for a value 0-7 for Accent

I’ve encountered 2 problems with my controllers (Kenton CF, Berhinger BCR, ..) and other programs (MidiOX, ..):

1. I need 3 variables (1 for each parameter) that can be updated each time i change a knob dedicated to one of these parameters. (BCR doesn’t have variables)

Without variables, each control will be resetting the 2 others to some fixed value, and i don’t want that.

2. I need these variables to be short enough (1 and 3 bits), and to be summed in the 8 bit bytes form each time i move a controller. (Kenton offer variables, but only full 8 bit bytes, and it can’t sum them).

So, in short, i would like to have:

– 3 knobs, each defining a different variable (sss, g or aaa)

– each time one of these knob is moved, it should send the sysex message including the sum of the variables at the actual state of the 3 knobs.

Does it sound possible? …and easy to do?

I hope i’ve been clear enough yet not too long in my explanations πŸ™‚