Build Ctrlr on Windows 10 and others

Home Forums Development Other stuff Build Ctrlr on Windows 10 and others

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    goodweather
    Participant
      • Topics: 45
      • Replies: 550
      • Total: 595
      • ★★★

Hi,
      as opuswerk in another old post but for macOS, I would like to learn how to build Ctrlr on Windows (32 and 64 bits), standalone and dll (32/64 bits).
      I’m new in all those new tools like Code Blocks, github… but learn fast and have engineering/IT background.

@atom
      (or other) hope you can help and guide me.

What I did so far:
      – I have a Win10 64 bits PC
      – downloaded and installed github desktop
      – cloned the ctrlr project
      – downloaded and installed Code::Blocks
      – opened the Ctrlr.cbp file and I can see all files in Code::Blocks
      …don’t know what to do next… will complete successful steps here 😉

About the build, my questions so far:
      – is Code::Blocks coming with compilers (seems not)?
      – which compilers and libraries do I need to install to build Ctrlr? C? C++? Juce? others?
      – is Code::Blocks better for Ctrlr development or is Visual Studio 2017 better or it doesn’t matter?

My plans:
      – restart from 5.3.201 and first try an easy change that I can see the effect
      – learn how Ctrlr is built, coded and assembled

Thx atom for all your great work!

Tedjuh
      Participant
        • Topics: 9
        • Replies: 97
        • Total: 106
        • ★★

Wouldn’t it be easier to install something like VMware and an image of Mac os instead of going for the cross-compile route? To my knowledge code::blocks works better on osx than it does on windows. Because on windows, visual studio seems to be the way to do it. And that way, you can even test it.

On the ctrlr GitHub, there are some hints how to compile it for different operating systems.